Alternative Fuels Australia

Report shows Australians overestimating car pollution

Posted by Car Geek on December 7, 2007

Concerns about greenhouse gases and pollution are registering with Australian motorists, but many are unsure about the effect vehicles are having on the environment, according to a recent survey.

The survey, conducted by the Australian Automobile Association, shows that while 79 per cent of drivers are concerned about the effects of their cars on the environment, they believe that their vehicles contribute, on average, 36 per cent of Australia’s total greenhouse gas emissions. The National Greenhouse Gas Inventory lists the total contribution of road transport at 12.6 per cent of national emissions, and passenger vehicles contributing approximately 7.8 per cent.

Stationary energy production remains the largest contributor of greenhouse gases at approximately 51 per cent, with agriculture coming in second at 17 per cent.

46 per cent of the 1500 drivers surveyed believed they had a “rough idea” of the contribution of vehicles to greenhouse gas emissions, but many overestimated the contribution. Younger drivers in particular were more likely to overestimate the contribution of passenger vehicles, with their average estimate just over 35 per cent.

Despite the relatively smaller contribution of transport, the sector is the fastest growing contributor to greenhouse gas emissions, having increased 30 per cent between 1990 and 2005. Passenger vehicle emissions have increased 25 per cent in the same period.

(Source: Courier-Mail)

25 Responses to “Report shows Australians overestimating car pollution”

  1. James Davies said

    This article, like many gives false information on this subject. It suggests that Greenhouse gas pollution is the same as general pollution. In fact the 12% figure does not take into account the production of the cars, but that is another issue.

    In travel cars may contribute only 12% to greenhouse gas emmisions, but the primary falsehood of this article is that it ties Greenhouse gas emmisions to general pollution. People have to understand that pollution is MORE then just greenhouse gases.

    In terms of general pollution the car packs a huge punch, particularly in cities. In Australian cities the car is responsible for between 60-80% of the air pollution, and this pullution consists of general smog, NOX, fine particle contamination, sulfur dioxide (from diesel engines), carbon monoxide, as well as others. Benzine is also a carcinagin and is found in petrol, and pollutes the air as well as water. While these pulltants are not Greenhouse gases, they make people feel sick and are responsible for reduced life expectancy, and morbidity. These pollutants are local and direct contaminents.

    Do not imply that cars produce little pollution, because of their greenhouse gas output from travel. There is other pollution other then greenhouse gases. Get your facts right, and stop producing nonsense.

  2. Daniel said

    James Davies: No, just no. Stop spreading lies to push your anti-car agenda.

  3. samara said

    hi why does car pollution

  4. Undeniably believe that which you said. Your favorite reason seemed to
    be on the web the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you,
    I definitely get annoyed while people think about worries that they plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  5. Hi! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers?

    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a few months of hard work
    due to no backup. Do you have any methods to protect against hackers?

  6. Hey there would you mind sharing which blog platform
    you’re using? I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to
    ask!

  7. probiotics said

    I like it when people get together and share opinions.
    Great website, continue the good work!

  8. Davis said

    You on Twitter or Facebook? Would like keep in the loop
    with your current articles or videos.

  9. You on Twitter or Google+? Don’t want to miss out on your next blogs

  10. tumblr.com said

    Yep, totally agree. You might have hit the nail on the
    head completely

  11. vehicle said

    Terrific blog. Inspires me to begin producing content again

  12. Not sure if you need more insulation on your water
    heater. The Easy Clip Fan is a must and definitely an essential for incoming college freshmen.
    This keeps your unit from having to work so hard to heat the
    water.

  13. this post said

    I’ve learn a few excellent stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting.
    I surprise how a lot effort you set to make this kind of excellent
    informative web site.

  14. This truly inspires me. I simply wish I could write as
    passionately as you do.

  15. The more I have studied this rather puzzling dilemma,
    the more I see how intricate the body is – how everything is connected
    and intertwined. Tyler says a year ago they would have stopped, but now they’re
    too suspicious of everyone. Rick Springfield is a talented singer, songwriter, and actor, and
    now he can add author as well.

  16. Have you any sort of tips about starting a blog site?
    I’m really tired of doing the same kind of thing at the office and want something new.

  17. motor said

    Awesome write-up dude. Just can’t wait for the next post.

  18. Have you any kind of tips about establishing a blog site?
    I’m just extremely tired of doing the same kind of thing at
    the office and desire something more challenging.

  19. Have you got any specific tips on setting up
    a blog? I am extremely tired of working on the same old thing at the office and would like something totally new.

  20. Fantastic write up. Could you send me to some more of your posts?

  21. I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get bought an edginess over that you wish be
    delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly again since
    exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case you shield this hike.

  22. 体臭対策を最も効率よくするために、体臭サプリメントが支持を集めています。

    販売されている体臭サプリによって働き方は異なるのですが、ほぼ臭いの元そのものの発生を抑える効果があります。

    体臭サプリメントの中には柑橘系成分が入っているものがあります。この柑橘系の体の臭いサプリは特に脇の臭い対策に有効です。

    加齢臭対策のサプリメントを選ぶ際の注意点としては、「加齢臭対策」という言葉だけを信用しないことです。

    例えば、口の臭い用のサプリで加齢臭にも効くと謳っているようなものの場合、加齢による臭いへの効果はほとんど期待できません。口の臭いと加齢臭では原因が全く違うからです。

  23. I read this post completely concerning the comparison of hottest and previous technologies, it’s awesome
    article.

  24. Hello I am so thrilled I found your site, I really found you by error,
    while I was browsing on Askjeeve for something else, Nonetheless
    I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a remarkable post and a
    all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I
    don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have bookmarked
    it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be
    back to read much more, Please do keep up the great b.

  25. I savor, lead to I discovered exactly what I used to be looking
    for. You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day.
    Bye

Leave a Reply

 
